Pitch THIS!

Sponsored by:


Presented in partnership with Mercury Filmworks, the OIAF’s annual Pitch THIS! pitching contest is an opportunity for Canadian creators to get noticed and kickstart their animated series concept!

This year ten Pitch THIS! semi-finalists were selected and paired with established industry mentors. Over the course of the summer, these creators met with mentors to refine their 10-minute long pitches before presenting them live at The Animation Conference (TAC) in September. The 2023 Pitch THIS! winner was Beccs Champagne with Ghost Stories and the runner up was Paula Peroff with The Breakfast Guild!

The Pitch THIS! winner is awarded a grand prize including:

  • $5,000 cash prize from Mercury Filmworks
  • Toon Boom Harmony Premium Annual license and online training
  • $1,000 in legal services courtesy of Edwards Creative Law
  • Two TAC AnimaPasses to OIAF 2024

The Pitch This! runner up receives:
A free 1-hour legal consultation courtesy of Edwards Creative Law



Beccs Champagne, Ghost Stories (2023 Winner)

Paula Peroff, The Breakfast Guild (2023 Runner Up)

Allison Lownie and Onyka Gairey, Best Witches

Daniela Smith-Fischer, Claudia Heights

Elton Su, Crimson Mandate

Emma Fiorante, Earth to Schneider

Hugo van Essen, Ferdinand The Self-Aware NPC

Justin Smith-Fischer, Marley and the Underdogs

Sadaf Amini, Maple Treehouse School

Shannon Fewster, Monster Problems



Casey Gonzalez, VP of Development, FredFilms

Emerald Wright-Collie, Director of Development, Sony Pictures Television Kids

Kris Pearn, Director, Sony Pictures Animation

Niki López, Creator/EP/Showrunner/Writer/Designer, Nickelodeon Animation Studios

Rikke Asbjoern, Writer/Director/Executive Producer


Semi-final Jury:

Grégory Magné-Grand, Original Content Director, Tonic DNA 

Hoda Elatewi, Executive Producer, President / CEO, GAPC Entertainment

Sam Chou, Director/Creative Director, Look Mom! Productions 

Semi-final Host:

Spencer Moreland, Animator/Filmmaker


Finale Jury:

Kirsten Hurd, Commissioning Editor, Kids TV, TVO Kids

Lauren Martinez, Vice President, Original Series and Movie Development, Cartoon Network

Lisa Cinelli, Executive in Charge of Production, CBC

Niki Williams, Sr Manager, Production and Development for Pre-K, Nickelodeon

Tommy Gillespie, Senior Director, Content Production, PBS Kids

Finale Host:

Heath Kenny, Chief Content Officer, Mercury Filmworks


Want to be the first to know about OIAF updates?