2012 Award Winners

Nelvana GRAND PRIZE for Best Independent Short Animation
Junkyard- directed by Hisko Hulsing, Netherlands

GRAND PRIZE for Best Animated Feature
Arrugas (Wrinkles), directed by Ignacio Ferreras, Spain

Walt Disney GRAND PRIZE for Best Student Animation
I Am Tom Moody- directed by Ainslie Henderson, Edinburgh College of Art, UK

GRAND PRIZE for Best Commissioned Animation
Primus "Lee Van Cleef" - by Chris Smith, USA

Best Animation School Showreel
Supinfocom (France)

BEST Narrative Short
A Morning Stroll - by Grant Orchard, STUDIO AKA, USA

BEST Experimental/Abstract Animation
Rivière au Tonnerre - directed by Pierre Hébert, Canada

Adobe Prize for BEST High School Animation
The Bean - by Hae Jin Jung, Gyeonggi Art High School, South Korea

Honourable Mention:
La Soif Du Monde (Thirsty Frog) - by a Collective: 12 Children, Camera-etc, Belgium

BEST Undergraduate Animation
Reizwäsche - by Jelena Walf & Viktor Stickel, Germany

BEST Graduate Animation
Ballpit - directed by Kyle Mowat, Sheridan College, Canada

BEST Promotional Animation
Red Bull 'Music Academy World Tour' - by Pete Candeland, Passion Pictures, UK

BEST Music Video
The First Time I Ran Away - by Joel Trussell, USA

BEST Television Animation for Adults
Portlandia: Zero Rats - by Rob Shaw, USA

BEST Short Animation Made for Children
Beethoven's Wig, directed by Alex Hawley & Denny Silverthorne, Canada

Honourable Mentions:
Au Coeur de L'Hiver - directed by Isabelle Favez, Switzerland
Why do we Put up with Them? - directed by David Chai, USA

BEST Television Animation Made for Children
Regular Show: Eggscellent - by J
G Quintel, Cartoon Network

Honourable Mention:
Adventure Time: Jake vs. Me-Mow - by Pendleton Ward, Cartoon Network, USA

The National Film Board of Canada PUBLIC PRIZE
It's Such a Beautiful Day - directed by Don Hertzfeldt, USA

Canadian Film Institute Award for BEST Canadian Animation
Nightingales in December, directed by Theodore Ushev, Canada

Honourable Mentions
Ballpit - directed by Kyle Mowat, Sheridan College, Canada
MacPherson - directed by Martine Chartrand, National Film Board of Canada, Canada

BEST Canadian Student Animation Award
Gum - By Noam Sussman, Sheridan College, Canadaa

Honourable Mentions
Ballpit - By Kyle Mowat, Sheridan College, Canada
Tengri - By Alisi Telengut, Concordia University, Canada

The Ottawa Media Jury Award
For the best short competition film, as deemed by the local Ottawa Media, consisting of:
  • Peter Simpson (Ottawa Citizen),
  • Denis Armstrong (Ottawa Sun),
  • Sandra Abma (CBC)  
  • Fateema Sayani (Ottawa Magazine)

I Am Tom Moody- By Ainslie Henderson, Edinburgh College of Art, UK