OTTAWA 00 - International Jury

A five member International Jury will watch the films in the festival's official competitions with a goal towards presenting various during the festival's closing ceremonies on Sunday, September 24. We are please to announce that the Ottawa 00 International Jury will be comprised of the following animation professionals:
Suzanne Gervais studied at the École des beaux-arts. Until 1968, she was a full-time painter and also did occasional illustrations for various publications. In 1969, she joined the National Film Board of Canada's French Animation Studio, where she worked on different productions as an assistant animator and assistant director. In 1971, she directed her first film, Cycle. This was followed by Climates (1975), La Plage (1978), Still Point (1983), The Studio (1988), The Irises (1991; with Jacques Giraldeau),Expectations(1993) and The Threshold(1998). In 1998, she retired from the NFB in order to concentrate on painting.
Wendy Jackson Hall is an independent animator, educator, writer and consultant specializing in animation. She has taught animation production courses at Santa Monica College as well as schools in California and Massachusetts. Her articles about animation have been published in Animation Journal, Animation Magazine, ASIFA News, AWN, the Hollywood Reporter, Variety and Wired Magazine, and her consulting clients have included AtomFilms and Nicktoons. Prior to becoming a freelancer, she was associate editor of Animation World Network and general manager of ASIFA-Hollywood.
John Hays is an award-winning animation industry veteran who was instrumental in the launch and development of numerous heavy-hitters in animation including: Universal Cartoon Studios; HBO Animation; Big Pictures (long-form arm of Colossal); and finally his own company, Wild Brain, Inc., and its new Internet animation channel,
Priit Parn is a pretty good animator and artist from the country of Estonia, which is located somewhere in North Eastern Europe. Unlike his character Diego, Parn is an active member of society who has written and illustrated books for children and their parents; is a noted graphic artist; an instructor at the Turku Arts Academy in Finland, and he has made a few notable and funny cartoons including: Hotel E, Breakfast on The Grass, 1895, and The Night of The Carrots (which was awarded the Grand Prize at the 1998 Ottawa International Animation Festival). He also likes to cook, ski and run. Apparently he is not a big hockey fan.
Jin Guo Ping, born in 1956, joined the Shanghai Animation Film Studio as an animator in 1976. He assumed the office of Assistant to the Executive Director in 1984, and in 1987, became Executive Secretary of the 1st Shanghai Animation Film Festival. Since 1994, Jin Guo Ping has been Executive Director of the Shanghai Animation Film Studio and Deputy Director of the Shanghai TV station. He is Deputy Director of ASIFA- China and since 1997, has served as China's representative on the ASIFA Executive Board.

What's New


2000 Entry Form
Rules and Regulations (English and French)
Selection Committee
International Jury
Films in Official Competition
International Panorama
Retrospective Screenings
Professional Development and Training Workshops and Panels
Animarket Trade Fair
Screening Schedlue
Travel and Accommodation Information
Guest List
Advertising Information

Back to Ottawa
Back to Animation World Network